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The Department of Services for Children, Youth and Their Families 

VISION 
Think of the Child First! 

 
MISSION 

We provide leadership and advocacy for Delaware's children. 
Our primary responsibility is to provide and manage a range of services for children -

who have experienced abandonment,abuse, adjudication, mental illness, neglect, 
substance abuse; and we endorse a holistic approach to enable children to reach their

fullest potential. 
 

 
 
Through our Division of Family Services, we provide services that encompass child 
abuse and neglect investigations and treatment, adoption and foster care services. We 
exist to help children achieve their fullest potential. While all of our services are 
important to the children of Delaware, the focus here is on how you can help some of 
our most vulnerable citizens; the foster children of Delaware. 
 
 
FACTS: 
� Foster families provide young people with safe, secure and stable homes when 

their parents or guardians cannot. 
� There are approximately 700 children in some 400 foster homes throughout our 

state. 
� The median age for a foster child in Delaware is 9.5 years. 
� Many of these older children are not strong candidates for adoption and will 

eventually age out of the system after they become 18. 
� Foster care stipends range from $13 a day to $55 a day. 

 
 
HOW  YOU CAN HELP ... 
� Sponsor foster children to attend trips to art museums or cultural events such as 

the children's theater or ballet 
� Provide gift certificates to book stores, toy stores, etc.. 
� Purchase tickets to a local circus or festival 
� Adopt-a-Foster Care Cluster (geographical grouping of foster parent homes) 
� Sponsor a trip to the Franklin Institute, Washington, DC, the zoo, etc.. 
� Host a barbecue for foster families 
� Provide tuition for summer camp 
� Orthodontia 
� Help with graduation and prom expenses (i.e.. pictures, cap and gown, tickets) 
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� Purchase memberships to Boys and Girls Clubs 
� Provide uniforms for associations such as Cub Scouts, karate, baseball, etc.. 
� Purchase a computer 
� Provide or pay for tutoring 
� Write a check payable to the State of Delaware for those "nice to have" supports, 

i.e.. trip to national wrestling event, school sponsored trips, cheerleading camp. 
 
 
The list is as long as your imagination. Think of something you would provide your own 
children or grandchildren, and add it to this list!! Please help us to think of a child in 
foster care and provide him or her with the little things to ensure safety, stability, self-
esteem and a sense of hope! 
 
 

For more information, please call Kiya Crippen at 302-633-2662. 
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"THINK OF THE CHILD FIRST" 

 
 

HOW A CHILD ENTERS FOSTER CARE 
 
 
 

The Division of Family Services is mandated by law to investigate reports of child 
abuse, neglect, and dependency or of children who are at risk of abuse or neglect. 
During the course of an investigation of child abuse or neglect, the caseworker 
interviews all involved parties, may work jointly with law enforcement (if criminal 
investigation), work collaboratively with medical professionals, schools and a number of 
other community partners to assess the risk of harm to children. 
 

Once the Division caseworker determines that the home environment is NOT 
safe for a child and there are no relative resources available ... a decision is made by 
the caseworker and their supervisor in consultation with the agency's Deputy Attorney 
General to file an Exparte or Emergency Petition for custody of the child in Family 
Court. 
 

An Exparte order provides the Division with the authority to temporarily place a 
child outside of the home without the parent's permission. Once the exparte custody is 
granted by a Family Court Judge, a child's journey through foster care begins. 
 

If no suitable relative placement is found, a child is placed in an approved foster 
placement. This may be a family home, shelters or group homes. The Division attempts 
to locate placements within the geographic area of the family and maintain family 
contact with the frequency based on the needs of the child. 
 

Within 10 days of receiving Exparte custody a Family Court Judge holds a 
Preliminary Protection Hearing. At this hearing the Court determines: 

• If the emergency removal was proper. 
• If there is probable cause that the child will be at significant risk if they were 

returned home. 
• If continued placement is necessary. 

 
During the Preliminary Protection Hearing the court appoints a child advocate to 

represent the interests of the child. The child will be appointed either a CASA (Court 
Appointed Special Advocate) or GAL (Guardian ad Litem). Parent Attorneys are assigned 
to parents who cannot afford legal counsel. 
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Until the next scheduled court hearing, the Division caseworker may be working with 
a number of professionals and family members on behalf of the child. This is inclusive 
of, but not limited to: 

• Law enforcement 
• Medical community 
• Schools 
• DAG's office (criminal) 
• Child Care providers 
• Child Advocates 
• Parent Attorney 
• Family members 
• Foster parents 

 
Within 30 days of a child entering foster care, a Dispositional Hearing is held. At this 

hearing, the court hears views and perspective from DFS caseworkers, child advocates, 
parents and experts if necessary to determine if the Division should retain custody with 
placement outside of the home or should the child return home. 
 

When the court decides that the child will remain in foster care, the court sanctions 
a family case plan with a goal of reunification that has been developed by the Division 
caseworker and the parents. Family Court continues to review the child's case 
periodically to determine the progress on the case. 

 
I've just presented a general systems overview of the first 30-day process of 

children entering care. However, coupled with the systemic process and equally 
important is the caseworker's focus on the trauma and emotional impact on children 
separated from the parents, siblings, away from their birth families, school, friends, 
experiencing a loss of all familiarity. .. of children adjusting or "fitting" into a new 
family, new school, new peers.Children with Judges, CASA's or GAO's, parent attorneys 
and DFS caseworkers all having input on where the child should live ... balanced with 
the responsibility of the caseworker to assuring safety of children in the home. 
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Five Basic Competencies 
 

• Protecting and nurturing children. 

• Meeting children’s developmental needs and addressing 
developmental delays. 

 
• Supporting relationships between children and their families. 

• Connecting children to safe nurturing relationships intended for a 
lifetime. 

 
• Working as a member of a professional team. 
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To:  All Staff 
 
From:  John Bates, Foster Care Program Manager 
 
Date:  January 23, 2003 
 
RE:  Foster Children Entering A New School 
 
Children who come into foster care are usually entering a stranger's home. 
Entering a stranger's home, coupled with changing schools, can be a very a 
traumatic experience for the child. This unexpected change makes a child's 
transition into a new school even more difficult. It is one of our goals to help 
make this challenging transition an easier one for the foster child involved. 
 
In a wonderful collaborative effort to assist foster children at the time of entering 
a new school after being placed in a foster home, the Department of Education 
has agreed to have school personnel available to conference with division staff 
and foster parents upon enrolling or shortly thereafter enrolling a foster child in 
school. Prior to the meeting, the DFS staff will have the Interagency Consent to 
Release Information form signed so that information can be freely shared 
between DFS and the school personnel. This will be the time when DFS staff can 
share information that will help the school in developing the child's educational 
plan and ease the stress on the child that naturally occurs when placed  
in a new school environment. 
 
Effective immediately when enrolling a foster child into a new school, you 
should: 
 

o Telephone the school counselor to inform them you will be enrolling a 
foster child in school and request a conference upon arrival. 

 

o Contact the foster parent to request their participation in this meeting. 
 

o If the child has an educational surrogate contact them to request they 
participate in this meeting 

 

o Be prepared to share medical or other special needs of the foster child 
 

o DFS staff should request a mentor for the child during this meeting 
 
The counselor will include the child's teacher and any other appropriate school 
staff for this meeting. Thanks in advance for your cooperation in this effort and 
"Thinking of the Child First".  
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Summary of 
Division of Family Services - Public School Districts 

 
MEMORANDUM OF UNDERSTANDING 

 
Reporting 

Delaware law requires that any person who knows or reasonably suspects child abuse or neglect 
shall make an oral report to: 
 

THE CHILD ABUSE REPORT LINE    1-800-292.9582 (24 hours per DAY) 
 

A written report is required, using the Mandatory Reporting Form, to be filed within 72 
hours after making the oral report. 
 
Who Reports?

Reports should be made by the actual reporting person. The oral report takes an average of 20 
minutes and will require demographic information on the child and family as well as specifics related to 
the incident. If necessary, a school designee may be assigned to make the oral report, but the actual 
reporting  
person must complete the written report and may be directly contacted by the Division of Family Services 
(DFS) to provide additional first-hand information. 
 
Responding to a Report

• DFS will notify the school within 24 hours if the report will be investigated or not. 
• The DFS caseworker attempts to contact the school reporter to discuss the case and related 

information and to determine of parents will be notified and by whom. The source of the report will 
be divulged only with the reporter's consent. The criminal proceedings, disclosure of the reporting 
source may be necessary for court purposes. 

• The DFS caseworker decides if the investigation will be initiated at the school. If so, the school 
reporter will inform the caseworker who the contact person will be upon arrival at the school. 

• Upon arriving, the caseworker will show identification and ask to speak with the contact person. 
The contact person will arrange for an interview location and make the child available. 

• If it is necessary to observe physical injuries, the school nurse may be asked to assist. If injuries 
are severe, DFS may request police to participate in the investigation at the school site. Under no 
circumstances should the school or DFS conduct a physical examination of alleged sexual abuse 
or rape. DFS and the police will arrange for a medical examination in these cases with the 
appropriate medical facility. 

• Upon conclusion of the interview and examination, DFS will inform the contact person about the 
planned course of action for the child. 

• DFS is not authorized to transport students. If this becomes necessary, the school or the police 
will be asked to assist. 

• At the conclusion of the family investigation, DFS will send written notice to the reporter that the 
investigation is completed. 

 
Reports from other sources may need to be investigated in the school setting. The DFS caseworker will 
request assistance from the school contact person and may request assistance from the school nurse. 
No examination will be done by school personnel prior to DFS response. 
 
Sharing information is encouraged and requires a Delaware Consent to Release Information Form which 
can be solicited by either agency and shared by FAX. 
 
If a case is open and the worker is unknown, the school may contact the DFS Report Line and request 
that the assigned caseworker contact them to share information about the case. 
 
Document No.: 37-06-30-99-11-02 
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DEPARTMENT OF SERVICES FOR CHILDREN, YOUTH AND THEIR FAMILIES 
 

DIVISION OF FAMILY SERVICES 
 

AUTHORIZATION FOR RELEASE OF INFORMATION 
 

 
CLIENT 

  
DATE OF BIRTH 

 

 
I,  

  
 hereby authorize 

 
 
  

To Release Information TO: 
 

  
To Obtain Information FROM: 

 

 
The type of information to be disclosed is: 
 
 
 
 
 
The purpose of this information disclosure is: 
 
 
 
 
 
This authorization is valid until: 
   

Six months from the date of signature 
   

The following date 
 

 
This consent may be revoked at any time, except to the extent that action has been taken in reliance on it. The 
person completing this form has a right to receive a copy. This form is invalid unless all sections are completed. 
 
 

    

Client Signature (if applicable)  Print Name  Date 
 
 

    

Parent, Guardian, Custodian (Circle One)  Print Name  Date 
 
 

    

DFS Worker  Print Name  Date 
 
 
I understand that my alcohol and/or drug treatment records are protected under the federal regulations 
governing Confidentiality of Alcohol and Drug Abuse Patient Records, 42 C.F.R. Part 2, and the Health 
Insurance Portability and Accountability Act of 1996 {"HIPAA"), 45 C.F.R. Pts. 160 & 164 and cannot be 
disclosed without my written consent unless otherwise provided for in the regulations. 
 



HEALTH INSURANCE PORTABILITY AND ACCOUNTABILITY ACT 
 

(HIPAA) 

Effective April 14, 2003, Congress passed the Health Insurance Portability and 
Accountability Act (HIPAA). HIPAA provides privacy protections to every citizen of the 
United States, including foster parents and foster children. According to HIPAA, 
medical information must be strictly maintained as confidential except under certain 
circumstances. For example, foster parents are still able to disclose medical 
information to doctors and dentists when they are taking their foster children for 
medical appointments. Similarly, medical information may also be shared with social 
workers, CASA's and Child Advocates. Medical information should only be shared 
with the school on a need to know basis. For example, the school needs to know if 
the child is on asthma medication or has been diagnosed with ADD. However, the 
school does not need to know if the child wets the bed. 
 
It has always been the Division's policy that foster parents must maintain the highest 
level of confidentiality as it relates to the child's medical conditions, the circumstances 
surrounding their foster placement, and all other personal information. This includes 
information about the child's biological family as well. A child's personal information 
should never be shared with friends, neighbors, co-workers, extended family, etc.. 
 
HIPAA has not changed federal laws concerning the disclosure of substance abuse 
information or information concerning sexually transmitted diseases, HIV status or 
pregnancy. According to 42 CFR, substance abuse information for youth over the age 
of 14 may never be disclosed without the youth's written consent. This even includes 
dirty urine screens and the youth's status in substance abuse treatment. Youth over 
the age of 12 must give written consent before any information is disclosed regarding 
sexually transmitted diseases, HIV status, or pregnancy. 
 
For the first time, Congress has attached possible legal and financial sanctions if 
medical information is shared erroneously or vindictively. Possible sanctions include 
civil fines ranging from $100 to $250,000 and up to 10 years imprisonment.  

If you have any questions about HIPAA or 42 CFR, please contact the Division's 
Privacy Officer, JoAnn Bruch at 6332690. 
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RESOURCE 

HELP 

FOR 

SCHOOLS 



PUBLICATIONS OFFERING DIRECT CLASSROOM ASSISTANCE 
 

LOVE AND LOGIC 
1 800 338-4065  
2207 Jackson St, Golden, CO 80401-2300 
http://www.love andlogic.com/

 
Teaching Package Excerpts: 

• Quick and Easy Classroom Interventions 
• Shaping Self-Concept/Turning Kids into Enthusiastic Learners 

 
Love and Logic Solutions for Kids with Special Needs 
 

THE OUT-OF-SYNC CHILD: RECOGNIZING AND COPING WITH 
SENSORY INTEGRATION DYSFUNCTION 

Author: Carol Stock Kranowitz 
For more information locally - Dupont Hospital Occupational Therapy 
Department 

 
THE CHILD WITH SPECIAL NEEDS: ENCOURAGING INTELLECTUAL 
AND EMOTIONAL GROWTH 

Authors: Stanley I. Greenspan, M.D. and Serena Wieder, Ph.D, Addison 
Wesley: 1998 Reading MA.  Parent oriented discussion of floor time with 
children with special needs.,  
 

INFANCY AND EARLY CHILDHOOD - THE PRACTICE OF CLINICAL 
ASSESSMENT AND INTERVENTION WITH EMOTIONAL AND 
DEVELOPMENTAL CHALLENGES 

Author: Stanley 1. Greenspan, M.D. International Universities Press, Inc. 
Comprehensive coverage of the range of behavioral, sensory spectrum 
disorders addressed to clinicians. 
 

ASSESSING ATTACHMENT, SEPARATION AND LOSS 
Author: Linda Bayless; Lillie Love, Editor. Child Welfare Institute. 
http://www.gocwi.org/
 

UNDERSTANDING THE DEFIANT CHILD AND MANAGING THE 
DEFIANT CHILD. A GUIDE TO PARENT TRAINING 

Russell A. Barkley, Ph.D., Guilford Press, New York 
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CASEY FAMILY PROGRAMS 
 

A Conversation with an Educator National Center for Resource Family Support 
 1808 Eye St. NW 

Washington, DC 20006-5427 
Last updated: January 3, 2003 Phone: 888/295-6727 

Fax: 202/467-4499 
 Email: cncinfo@casey.org 

Website: www.casey.org/cnc 
 

Lynne Steyer Noble is Associate Professor of Education at Columbia College in South 
Carolina, and is both a biological and adop ive paren . She has fos e ed many children
has trained foster and adoptive parents and caseworkers for the South Carolina
Depa ment of Social Services, and has made adoptive placements through her private 
adoption agency. She is t uly the epitome of the term "resource parent. "In her role as an 
educa o  bu  with her experience as a parent, she talked with us about child en in foster 
care in he school se ing We asked Dr. Noble to share with us he ideas on wha  
eache s should know abou  children in foster care. 
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It is important for teachers to know, first of all, that a child is in foster care, and then to 
be able to access the child's relevant academic records. Often, teachers think they can't ask 
about foster care, agencies think they can't tell, and foster families are afraid to violate the 
child's confidentiality. Rules may be different from state to state and even from district 
to district, but teachers should explore what they are entitled to have access to, and 
then try to get that information. 
 
Resource parents, like all parents, may be either uninvolved in the academic life of the 
children in their care or may be relentless advocates for the children's needs. Teachers need 
to understand that when parents are "bulldogs" it's a good thing - these children especially 
need someone who is on their side. It's up to the teacher to harness the energy and 
commitment of these parents to promote positive change for the child in care. 
 
Every teacher should look at his or her curriculum, routines, expectations, and classroom 
with the question in mind, "Is this foster-care friendly?" For example: 
 

• Children in care, as well as those in adoptive, kinship, guardianship, and blended 
homes may be unable to complete assignments that call for the construction of a 
family tree. 

 
• Even a "simple" assignment, like bringing in a baby picture, may be impossible for a 

child who has lived with multiple families. 
 
• In some jurisdictions, foster parents may not have the authority to complete a 

permission slip for a field trip. Teachers need to allow the family time to get the 
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form signed through the agency, and need to be sensitive to the need of the child to 
not be "different" in yet another situation. 

 
• Classrooms should contain materials that are "foster care friendly" such as books that 

contain depictions of different kinds of families, including foster, adoptive, and 
relative caregiving families. 

 
Many children in foster care are behind academically. Often this is due to inconsistent school 
attendance, multiple moves, and lack of support from home, rather than lack of ability. 
However, teachers need to understand that they can't necessarily bring children up to grade 
level in one year. Children with multiple concerns, including loss and grief issues and 
uncertainty about their futures, are not going to be able to focus their attention on 
academics. There are many areas other than school subjects where teachers can make a 
significant difference. They can contribute to meeting the social and emotional needs of 
children in care by understanding, caring, and attending to the day-to-day interactions with 
other children in the classroom. Teachers can back off on academic expectations when more 
pressing needs come first. 
 
Teachers can contact a child's former teacher to find out not only the child's academic status, 
but to learn what other strengths and challenges the child may have. 
 
Materials and tasks in the classroom can be structured so that the child is able to achieve 
success in some areas, even if academics are a problem. The teacher needs to start with the 
child - where is he/she academically, socially, emotionally - and then find ways to help 
that child fit into the class. Reduced academic expectations is one area, but there are other 
places the child in foster care may be able to feel successful. For example, give the  
child responsibility for a caregiving activity such as feeding an animal, watering plants, or 
passing out supplies to provide an opportunity for feeling useful and competent. 
 
Remember, though, that many children in foster care find it difficult to trust adults, 
often for good reason. Teachers should recognize their own status as potential disappointers 
in the eyes of children in care, and be willing to accept the child's initial lack of trust, working 
to achieve a better relationship over time. 
 
Back to academics, educators need to recognize that the reality is many of these 
children are not going to perform well at grade level, no matter what we do. They are often 
behind when they come to us, and the emotional distractions of being separated from 
family, home, friends, and previous school are going to make concentration on reading and 
arithmetic very difficult. If the child is in fourth grade but reading at a second grade 
level, the teacher needs to start there, and not grade the child on failure to read at the 
fourth grade level. This is going to be problematic when standardized testing is important to 
the school and to the teacher, but what we really need to be concerned with is the child. 
 
Many children in foster care are given labels such as "learning disabled." While this can be an 
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opportunity to secure extra resources for learning, it can also be one more negative 
connotation in the life of a child who already feels different from his/her peers. Academic 
problems are not always the result of learning disabilities, but can instead stem from a variety 
of school and family issues that make it difficult for the child to succeed. What children in 
foster care need most are strong advocates in the schools. Teachers, resource parents, agency 
staff and birth families can all contribute to school success if given the information 
they need to understand the problem and the opportunity to collaborate with the 
school in providing support to children who need it. 
 
In closing we asked Dr  Noble whe he she could recommend any children's books 
that deal realistically and sensitively with the issue o  ou -o -home care  5he men ioned 
wo bo h appropriate to the 5

. t r 
f t f . t

t , t  t : th to 8 h grades
 
Gibbons, K. (1997). Ellen Foster. New York: Random House. A young girl from a troubled 
family searches for a permanent home. A teacher's guide from Random House is 
available online at 
http://www.randomhouse.com/catalog/display.pperl?isbn=0375703055&view=tg with 
some of the other issues raised in this book, including racial prejudice and 
responsibility and control, without providing specific guidance on handling the 
substitute care issues pertinent to foster care. 
 
Byers, B. C. (1997). The Pinballs. New York: Harper. The story of three children who 
meet while in foster care in the same home. Ethemes, an Internet site providing 
resources for teachers, contains a number of links (some out of date) to educational 
activities for use with this book. 
http://emints.more.net/ethemes/resources/S00000806.shtml
 
 
Another book resource: 
 
Walk a Mile in My Shoes: A Book about Biological Parents for Foster Parents and 
Social Workers By: Judith A.B. Lee and Danielle Nisivoccia. This book will help foster 
parents and caseworkers "get into the shoes" of biological parents. Foster parents may use it 
as a self-help guide. Workers will find it helps attune them to the tasks both foster and 
biological parents face. Agencies will find it especially effective for use in the separate and 
joint training of caseworkers and foster parents and for use by teachers and students in 
learning about biological families. 1989/0-87868-349-6/#3496. $8.95 
http://www.cwla.org/pubs/pubdetails.asp?PUBID=3496
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School Support For Foster Families 
 
ERIC CLEARINGHOUSE ON URBAN EDUCATION DIGEST Number 147- School 
Support for Foster Families, (9/1999). View as:

• HTML (http://eric-web.tc.columbia.edu/digest/dig147.asp) 

• PDF (http://eric-web.tc.columbia.edu/digest/pdf/147.pdf) 

This digest discusses factors that influence the ability of foster children to 
achieve academically and offers some strategies that schools can use to improve 
their educational success and emotional well-being. 

 

What Do Children Think About Foster Care 

“What Do Children Think About Foster Care?” 
(http://ssw.unc.edu/fcrp/Cspn/vol1_no3/what_do_children_think.htm) 

Children's Services Practice Notes for North Carolina's Division of Social Services and 
the N.C. Family and Children's Resource Program, Vol. 1, No. 3, Spring 1996  
 

Children's Services Practice Notes, a newsletter designed to enhance the practice of North 
Carolina's child welfare workers by providing them with information about research and 
practice models. Produced four times a year, Practice Notes is sponsored by the North 
Carolina Division of Social Services and the N.C. Family and Children's Resource Program, 
part of the Jordan Institute for Families and the School of Social Work at the University of 
North Carolina at Chapel Hill. 

 

What Keeps Children In Foster Care 
From Succeeding In School 

“What Keeps Children in Foster Care From Succeeding in School” 
(  )http://www.vera.org/publications/publications_5.asp?publication_id=169

Marni Finkelstein, Mark Wamsley, and Doreen Miranda.Vera Institute of Justice, 
July 2002. 

As a group, children in foster care struggle academically. Researchers interviewed 25 
foster children and 54 of the adults in their lives to better understand how being in 
foster care affects a child's education, and how adults can help them succeed in 
school.  
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Improving Special Education for Children with Disabilities in 
Foster Care 
http://www.caseyfamilyprograms.org/cnc/documents/improving_special_education.pdf

Casey Family Programs Education Issue Brief, June 2002. 
This issue brief is intended to highlight the special education issues particular to 
children and youth in foster care and to suggest opportunities for improving their 
outcomes. 
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Bibliotherapy Resources on Foster Care 
 
Recommended for four to eight year old reading levels:  
1. The Coffee Can Kid by Jan M. Czech 
2. The Whistling Tree by Audrey Penn 
3. Little Flower: A Journey of Caring by Laura McAndrew  
4. Zachary's New Home by Geraldine M. Blumquist  
5. A -Koala for Katie by Jonathan London  
6. Lucy's Family Tree by Karen Halvorsen Schreck  
7. Rosie's Family: An Adoption Story by Lori Rosove  
8. Emma's Yucky Brother by Jean Little  
9. Giant Jack by Birte Muller 
10. Mrs. Hen's Big Surprise by Christel Desmoinaux 11. Horace by Holly Keller 
11. A Mother for Choco by Keiko Kasza 
12. The Most Beautiful Place in the World by Ann Cameron  
13. Train to Somewhere by Eve Bunting 
14. The Star: A Story to Help Young Children Understand Foster Care by Cynthia 

Miller Lovell 
15. Papa Piccolo by Carol Talley 
16. Welcome Comfort by Patricia Polacco  
17. Willow and Twig by Jean Little 
 
 
Recommended for nine to twelve year old reading levels: 
1. Everything on a Waf lef  by Polly Horvath  
2. The Pinballs by Betsy Byars 
3. Pictures of Hollis Woods by Patricia Reilly Giff 
4. A Little Princess by Frances Hodgson Burnett 
5. The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett 
6. The Great Gilly Hopkins Anniversary Edition by Katherine Paterson  
7. Baby by Patricia MacLachlan 
8. Dave at Night by Gail Carson Levine 
9. Journey to the Sea by Eva Ibbotson 
10. The Little White Horse by Elizabeth Goudge  
11. The BFG by Roald Dahi  
12. A Single Shard by Linda Sue Park  
13. Mandy by Julie Andrews Edwards  
14. Ruby Holler by Sharon Creech  
15. Linnets and Valerians by Elizabeth Goudge  
16. Ballet Shoes by Noel Streatfeild 
17. Anne of Green Gables by Lucy Maud Montgomery  
18. Theater Shoes by Noel Streatfeild 
19. Molly Moon's Incredible Book of Hypnotism by Georgia Byng  
20. Finding Sophie by Irene N. Watts  
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21. Locomotion by Jacqueline Woodson 
22. Grover G. Graham and Me by Mary Quattlebaum  
23. The Story of Tracy Beaker by Jacqueline Wilson  
24. The Day They Gave Babies Away by Dale Eunson  
25. Water Rat by Marnie Laird 
26. Chance and the Butterfly by Maggie DeVries  
27. Bo and Mzzz Mad by Sid Fleischman  
28. Team Picture by Dean Hughes  
29. Monster in Me by Mete Ivie Harrison  
30. In Care of Cassie Tucker by Ivy Ruckman 
 
 
Recommended for young adult reading level: 
1. Born Blue by Han Noloan 
2. Rodzina by Karen Cushman 
3. Zazoo by Richard Mosher 
4. Goodnight, Mr. Tom by Michelle Magoria 
 
 
Books about Foster Care (Adult Non-Fiction): 
1. A Child Called "It" by Dave Pelzer  
2. The Lost Boy by Dave Pelzer 
3. A Man Named Dave by Dave Pelzer  
4. Wounded Angels by Richard Kagan 
5. They Cage the Animals at Night by Jennings Michael Burch 
6. Death from Child Abuse... and No One Heard by Eve Krupinski and Dana Weikel 
7. Ghost Girl: The True Story of a Child in Peril and the Teacher Who Saved Her by 

Torey Hayden 
8. Another Place at the Table: A Story of Shattered Childhoods Redeemed by Love by 

Kathy Harrison 
9. Like Family: Growing Up in Other People's Houses by Paula McLain 
10. Small Feats: Unsung Accomplishments and Everyday Heroics of Foster and Adoptive 

Parents. by Richard Delaney 
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CHILD ABUSE AND NEGLECT 

 
 

MANDATORY REPORTING 



 
 
 
 
 
 
 

§ 903. REPORTS REQUIRED 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Any physician, and any other person in the healing arts including any 
person licensed to render services in medicine, osteopathy, dentistry, 
any intern, resident, nurse, school employee, social worker, 
psychologist, medical examiner or any other person who knows or 
reasonably suspects child abuse or neglect shall make a report in 
accordance with § 904 of this title. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
The Professional’s Guide to Reporting Child Abuse & Neglect,  State of Delaware, Department 
of Services for Children, Youth and Their Families 



 

DIVISION OF FAMILY SERVICES 
CHILD ABUSE/NEGLET MANDATORY REPORTING FORM 
(Title 16, Delaware Code, Chapter 9, Subsections 901-914) 

In-State, Toll-Free 24-Hour Report Line 1-800-292-9582 
Out-of-State 24-Hour Report Line 1-302-577-6550 

 
 
INSTRUCTIONS: Any physician, and any other medical person in the healing arts including any person licensed to render 
services in medicine, osteopathy, dentistry, any intern, resident, nurse, medical examiner, school employee, social worker, 
psychologist, or any other person who knows or reasonably suspects child abuse or neglect shall make an oral report to the 
Report Line using the number at the top of this page in accordance with 16 Del.C., §903. 
 
Within 72 hours after the oral report, send a completed Child Abuse/Neglect Mandatory Reporting Form to the regional office of 
the county of the child(ren)’s residence.  Please type or print the information and sign the form on the back. 
 

NEW CASTLE COUNTY: 
Division of Family Services 

NCC Police Department 
3601 N DuPont Hwy 

New Castle, DE 19720 

KENT COUNTY: 
Division of Family Services 

Barratt Bldg, Ste 200 
821 Silverlake Blvd 
Dover, DE 19904 

SUSSEX COUNTY: 
Division of Family Services 

Georgetown State Service Center 
546 S Bedford St 

Georgetown, DE 19947 
 

IDENTIFYING INFORMATION 
Child’s Name 
(Last, First, Initial) 

Date of Birth/ 
Age 

Sex Race Victim 
(Yes/No) 

1.     

Current Address:     

2.     

Current Address:     

3.     

Current Address:     

4.     

Current Address:     

5.     

Current Address:     

 
Parents’/Custodians’/Caretakers’ Names 
(Last, First, Initial) 

Date of Birth/ 
Age 

Sex Race Perpetrator 
(Yes/No) 

Mother 
6.

    

Current Address:     

Father 
7.

    

Current Address:     

Custodian/Caretaker (Relationship) 
8.

    

Current Address:     

 
Please specify for numbers 1 – 8 above: 
Foreign language spoken:  #’s  Specify type: 
Disabilities:  #’s  Specify type: 
 



DESCRIPTION 
 

1. Describe the child’s current condition/injuries and the reason you suspect abuse/neglect.  Include evidence, if known, of 
prior abuse and/or neglect to theis child or sibling.  Add pages or attach further written documentation as needed. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

2. If applicable, note the exact location of any injury by placing a number on the model below.  Use the lines to the right of 
the models to describe the corresponding injury that each number represents.  Check the category of injuries below. 
_____ Physical Abuse     _____Sexual Abuse     _____Physical Neglect 
 

______________________________________
______________________________________
______________________________________
______________________________________
______________________________________
______________________________________
______________________________________
______________________________________
______________________________________
______________________________________
______________________________________
______________________________________
______________________________________
______________________________________
______________________________________
______________________________________
______________________________________
______________________________________
______________________________________
______________________________________

 
3. Actions taken “T” or pending “P” 
_____ Medical Examination   _____ Notification of Police 
_____ X-Rays    _____ Notification of Medical Examiner 
_____ Photographs    _____ Other: ____________________________________________________ 

 
REPORTING SOURCE (CONFIDENTIAL) 
Signature 
 
 

Title or Relationship to Child Date of Report 

Facility/Organization 
 
 

Address Telephone No. 

 

REPORT LINE USE ONLY 
 
Date of Oral Report: _________________________           Report was: _____  Accepted     _____ Rejected 
 
Date Written Report Received: _______________________ 
 
Prior DFS Case Activity/Reports? _____ Yes     _____ No     If “yes”, specify dates: ___________________________________ 
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TO REPORTING CHILDTO REPORTING CHILDTO REPORTING CHILDTO REPORTING CHILDTO REPORTING CHILD



A law regarding the abuse of children became
effective on June 28, 1976.  The law defined child
abuse and neglect and described the responsibilities
of the child protective agency receiving the reports.
The statute was amended almost in its entirety by the
Child Abuse Prevention Act of 1997 which became
effective on July 17, 1997.

16 Del. C., § 902. Definitions of child16 Del. C., § 902. Definitions of child16 Del. C., § 902. Definitions of child16 Del. C., § 902. Definitions of child16 Del. C., § 902. Definitions of child
abuse and neglect.abuse and neglect.abuse and neglect.abuse and neglect.abuse and neglect.

(1) “Abuse” shall mean any physical injury to a child
by those responsible for the care, custody and control
of the child, through unjustified force as defined in
§ 468 (1) (c) of Title 11 emotional abuse, torture,
criminally negligent treatment, sexual abuse,
exploitation, maltreatment or mistreatment.

(9) “Neglect” shall mean the failure to provide, by
those responsible for the care, custody and control of
the child, the proper or necessary: education as
required by law; nutrition; or medical, or surgical, or
any other care necessary or the child’s well-being.
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§ 903.  Reports Required.§ 903.  Reports Required.§ 903.  Reports Required.§ 903.  Reports Required.§ 903.  Reports Required.

Any physician, and any other person in the healing
arts including any person licensed to render services
in medicine, osteopathy, dentistry, any intern,
resident, nurse, school employee, social worker,
psychologist, medical examiner or any other person
who knows or reasonably suspects child abuse or
neglect shall make a report in accordance with § 904
of this title.

Professional reporters are often referred to as
mandated reporters.

§ 904. Nature and content of report;§ 904. Nature and content of report;§ 904. Nature and content of report;§ 904. Nature and content of report;§ 904. Nature and content of report;
to whom made.to whom made.to whom made.to whom made.to whom made.

Any report required to be made under this chapter
shall be made to the Division of Child Protective
Services (Division of Family Services) of the
Department of Services for Children, Youth and Their
Families.  An immediate oral report shall be made by
telephone or otherwise.  Reports and the contents
thereof including a written report, if requested, shall
be made in accordance with the rules and regulations
of the Division of Child Protective Services, or in
accordance with the rules and regulations adopted by
the Division.
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§ 908. Immunity from liability.§ 908. Immunity from liability.§ 908. Immunity from liability.§ 908. Immunity from liability.§ 908. Immunity from liability.

Anyone participating in good faith in the making
of a report pursuant to this chapter, performing a
medical examination without the consent of those
responsible for the care, custody and control of the
child pursuant to § 906 (b) (5) of this chapter, or
exercising emergency protective custody in
compliance with § 907 of this chapter, shall have
immunity from any liability civil or criminal, that
might otherwise exist and such immunity shall
extend to participation in any judicial proceedings
resulting from the above actions taken in good
faith.  This section shall not limit the liability of
any health care provider for personal injury claims
due to medical negligence that occurs as a result of
any examination performed pursuant to this § 906
(b)3 of this Title.

Penalty for not making a report:Penalty for not making a report:Penalty for not making a report:Penalty for not making a report:Penalty for not making a report:

§ 914. Penalty for violation.§ 914. Penalty for violation.§ 914. Penalty for violation.§ 914. Penalty for violation.§ 914. Penalty for violation.

Whoever knowingly violates § 903 of this chapter
shall be fined no more than $1000 or shall be
imprisoned not more than 15 days or both.



CONFIDENTIALITY/INVESTIGATION

CONFIDENTIALITY/INVESTIGATION

CONFIDENTIALITY/INVESTIGATION

CONFIDENTIALITY/INVESTIGATION

CONFIDENTIALITY/INVESTIGATION

The Division of Family Services adheres to all
Federal laws and regulations governing access and
release of confidential records.  It is the policy of the
Division of Family Services not to divulge the name
of the person who reports a family to the agency
without the reporter’s consent.

The Division of Family Services conducts a thorough
investigation of a family and, when needed, provides
treatment services to families.  To accomplish these
goals, caseworkers must speak to people, such as
medical professionals and teachers, who know the
family.  Therefore, the caseworker asks the family to
sign a consent to obtain/release information.

Now is the time to report!Now is the time to report!Now is the time to report!Now is the time to report!Now is the time to report!

• Stop current child abuse

• Prevent future child abuse and neglect

• Ensure the safety of a child – it’s
everyone’s business

• Protect young children who cannot
protect themselves

• Promote optimal  functioning of the family

• Act quickly and do not rely on someone else to
make the report

It’s the Division of Family Services’ responsibility toIt’s the Division of Family Services’ responsibility toIt’s the Division of Family Services’ responsibility toIt’s the Division of Family Services’ responsibility toIt’s the Division of Family Services’ responsibility to
investigate allegations of child abuse and neglect!investigate allegations of child abuse and neglect!investigate allegations of child abuse and neglect!investigate allegations of child abuse and neglect!investigate allegations of child abuse and neglect!
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Institutional AbuseInstitutional AbuseInstitutional AbuseInstitutional AbuseInstitutional Abuse

The Division also investigates child abuse and
neglect which occurs in child care facilities.  Child
care facilities include: transitional living programs,
residential child care, foster homes, licensed child
day care facilities, emergency shelters for children,
correctional and detention facilities, day treatment
programs, all facilities in which a reported incident
involves a child/children in the custody of the
Department of Services For Children, Youth and
Their Families, and all facilities which are operated
by the Department.  Licensed-exempt child care
facilities (preschools, schools, hospitals or church
operated baby-sitting/Sunday schools) are not
included. Those reports should be referred to the
police.  There are specialized Division of Family
Services staff who investigate institutional
abuse reports.

Making a ReportMaking a ReportMaking a ReportMaking a ReportMaking a Report

If you suspect a child under the age of 18 is being
abused or neglected or is at risk for abuse or neglect,
you should make a report to the Division of Family
Services by calling 1-800-292-9582 within the State
of Delaware.  Out-of-state calls are to be made to
(302) 577-6550.  The phones are answered 24 hours a
day, 365 days a year by Division of Family
Services’ staff.



CONFIDENTIALITY/INVESTIGATION

CONFIDENTIALITY/INVESTIGATION

CONFIDENTIALITY/INVESTIGATION

CONFIDENTIALITY/INVESTIGATION

CONFIDENTIALITY/INVESTIGATION

Information neededInformation neededInformation neededInformation neededInformation needed

When you call in a report, you will need to have
certain information:

• Name, age (date of birth if possible), gender of the
child and other family members and the names of
the parents/caretakers if available

• Address, phone numbers, and/or directions to the
family’s home or location of the child

• Description of the suspected abuse or neglect

• Current condition of the child

• Any other pertinent information which may assist
us in determining abuse or neglect

When making a report you will not have to give
your name.  However, if you do give your name it
will allow the caseworker to call you for further
information about the family.

Next StepsNext StepsNext StepsNext StepsNext Steps

Once a report is received, the report line worker will
review the facts of the case with a supervisor.  If a
decision is made not to investigate, you will be
contacted by report line staff.
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The report will be accepted if the problems identified
suggest a child is abused, neglected, dependent or is
at risk of being abused, neglected or dependent.

The Division of Family Services utilizes a risk
assessment tool to analyze the information in the
report.  Some information such as the young age of a
child (0 - 6 years old), parental drug and alcohol
usage or evidence of current injury will show an
increased risk to the child and require a quicker
response time.

When a case is accepted for investigation,  a case-
worker will contact the parents or caretakers, the
children, professionals, family members and/or
friends who can help assess the family situation.  The
Division of Family Services also conducts a criminal
background check on all household members above
the age of 12.

Once the investigation is completed, the caseworker
with the supervisor will determine if the family is in
need of treatment services.  As the reporter, you will
receive a letter informing you if the case was closed
or opened with our division.  Due to confidentiality,
the Division of Family Services is unable to release
any other information to the reporter.
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The Division of Family Services works
collaboratively with other agencies to identify, assess
and treat families.  We have formal agreements
known as Memoranda of Understanding (MOU) with:

• All statewide police agencies

• The Department of Justice

• The Division of Public Health

• The Division of Mental Retardation

• The Department of Education - Public
School Districts

• The Department of Correction

• The Dover Air Force Base Family Advocacy Center
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Memoranda of Understanding describe specific
reporting procedures, protocol for interaction
between agencies, criteria for sharing of information,
problem resolution and designate liaisons for
each agency.

We also have collaborative relationships with the
Children’s Advocacy Center of Delaware (CAC) and
the Family Visitation Centers throughout Delaware.
The CAC is a private organization which offers
multidisciplinary services for children who are
victims of sexual assault and serious physical abuse.
Family Visitation Centers provide a safe, neutral
place for monitored exchange of children for off-site
visitation and supervised on-site visitation in
families with a history of domestic violence.

Each  member of the professional team serving
families or children, has the responsibility to report
suspected cases of child abuse or neglect.  The
Division of Family Services has the responsibility to
investigate and determine whether abuse or neglect
has actually occurred or if the child is at risk for
abuse or neglect.

Some professionals have distinctSome professionals have distinctSome professionals have distinctSome professionals have distinctSome professionals have distinct
responsibilities in protecting children asresponsibilities in protecting children asresponsibilities in protecting children asresponsibilities in protecting children asresponsibilities in protecting children as
highlighted below:highlighted below:highlighted below:highlighted below:highlighted below:

Child Care StaffChild Care StaffChild Care StaffChild Care StaffChild Care Staff

Child care staff have several points of contact with
the Division of Family Services.  All child care
facilities in the State of Delaware are licensed by the
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Office of Child Care Licensing.  Facilities are
required to meet standards defined in Delacare:
Requirements for Residential Child Care Facilities
and Day Treatment Programs.

Child care staff also are a source of information for
Division of Family Services’ staff.  Child care
providers see many children on a regular basis.  They
are able to observe a child’s appearance and behav-
ior.  In addition, they have knowledge about the
interaction between a child and parent.  Child care
providers are a critical source of information about
children who have not yet entered school.

After a family is reported for child abuse and neglect,
child care providers may be part of a plan to help a
family.   The Division of Family Services makes
referrals to child care facilities to provide a safe and
stimulating environment for children.  In addition,
child care staff are often called upon to discuss a
child’s progress.

Law EnforcementLaw EnforcementLaw EnforcementLaw EnforcementLaw Enforcement

Domestic Violence:  Law enforcement should report
to the Division of Family Services cases where
children witness felony level domestic violence or
chronic misdemeanor domestic violence.  Of course,
if a child is injured during a domestic violence
situation, this should also be reported immediately
to the Division.
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Joint Investigation:  Police officers are mandated to
do joint investigation if certain crimes may have
been committed as specified in The Child Abuse
Prevention Act of 1997.

Temporary Emergency Protective Custody:  The
Child Abuse Prevention Act of 1997 empowers
police officers to take temporary emergency protec-
tive custody of children they suspect are in imminent
danger of suffering serious physical harm or threat to
life as a result of abuse or neglect.  The police must
immediately make a report to the Division of Family
Services since the temporary emergency custody
shall not exceed four hours.

PhysiciansPhysiciansPhysiciansPhysiciansPhysicians

Medical personnel provide expertise in the identifi-
cation of abuse or neglect.  The Division of Family
Services also relies on the medical community to
confirm abuse or neglect during the course of an
investigation.

Medical Examination:  The Child Abuse Prevention
Act of 1997 gives the Division of Family Services
the authority to “secure a medical examination of a
child, without the consent of those responsible for
the care, custody, and control of the child, if the child
has been reported to be a victim of abuse or neglect.”
These examinations are to be paid for by all insur-
ance companies operating in the State of Delaware,
as stipulated in the Child Abuse Prevention Act
 of 1997.
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Temporary Emergency Protective Custody:  The
Child Abuse Prevention Act of 1997 empowers
physicians to take temporary emergency protective
custody of children they suspect are in imminent
danger of suffering serious physical harm or threat to
life as a result of abuse or neglect.  Physicians must
immediately make a report to the Division of Family
Services since the temporary emergency custody
shall not exceed four hours.

School PersonnelSchool PersonnelSchool PersonnelSchool PersonnelSchool Personnel

Educators are often a great source of information
about the children we serve.  Educators not only see
children almost daily, they also provide a support
system and role model for children.  In addition,
educators are able to identify, by their performance
in school, children who may be having problems.
Behavior and appearance are key indicators of the
situation at home.  Educators can provide
the Division of Family Services with valuable
information to help these children.

Educators can continue to help after a report has
been made.  Since they will most likely continue to
see the child, they can report any new incidents of
abuse or neglect.  They also can be a support to the
child and help a caseworker with services that the
school may be able to provide.
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Physical IndicatorsPhysical IndicatorsPhysical IndicatorsPhysical IndicatorsPhysical Indicators

• Injuries that are unexplainable or do not have a
reasonable explanation may be a result of child
abuse.  Injuries may include bruises or welts on the
face, torso, buttocks, thighs or back.  The marks
may be in the shape of an object and may be in
various stages of healing.

• Fractures/dislocations that are unexplained and
involve facial structure, skull, bones around joints
or spiral fractures may be child abuse.

• Burns on the palms of the hand, soles of the feet,
buttocks or back that may reflect a pattern of
cigarette, cigar, electrical appliance, rope or
immersion burns may be child abuse.

• Cuts, bite marks, pinch marks, bald patches, retinal
hemorrhaging, and abdominal injures may also be
indicators of child abuse.

Behavioral IndicatorsBehavioral IndicatorsBehavioral IndicatorsBehavioral IndicatorsBehavioral Indicators

• Overly shy, avoids contact with adults

• Afraid to go home/or requests to stay at school or
child care

• Reports injuries by parents
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• Cries excessively or sits and stares

• Gives unbelievable explanations for injuries

• Requests or feels deserving of punishments or
suggests harsh punishments for other children.

High Risk ChildrenHigh Risk ChildrenHigh Risk ChildrenHigh Risk ChildrenHigh Risk Children

• Children who are disabled or have special needs
are at a higher risk for abuse due to the increased
stress on the caregiver.

• Children aged 0-6 are at a higher risk for abuse due
to the increased level of care needed and the lack
of relief for the parent through school or child
care options.

• Parents who are abusing substances often have
little patience. They may be impulsive and
possibly experience mood swings which may put
their children at higher risk for abuse.

• Children living in a home in which domestic
violence is present are at an increased risk for
abuse.  The abuser in the home may accidentally
hurt one of the children while attacking the victim
of domestic violence.  The abuser may decide to
hurt a child in the home as a means of punishing or
hurting the victim.  Or, the victim of domestic
violence may abuse the children due to the
stress they are under from the abuser.
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Shaken Baby SyndromeShaken Baby SyndromeShaken Baby SyndromeShaken Baby SyndromeShaken Baby Syndrome

Usually in Shaken Baby Syndrome, there are no skull
fractures or external signs of injuries.  The baby often
seems fine until he/she goes into sudden respiratory
arrest or seizures.

The amount and severity of shaking necessary to
cause death is always intentional and abusive.  These
injuries are caused by a person shaking an infant
violently and over a period of time.  Infants typically
start to show symptoms of the injuries within minutes
of the abuse.  The injuries from shaken baby syn-
drome result in fatalities in 20% to 25 % of the cases
and most survivors suffer brain damage.  This type of
abuse is most often seen in children under 18 months
because infants less than one year old lack muscle
control and their heads are heavier than their body.
In a study of fatal cases of Shaken Baby Syndrome,
the majority of perpetrators were men who became
furious over a baby’s crying and assaulted the child
out of frustration and rage.
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Neglect is characterized by the chronic failure of a
caregiver to provide for a child’s physical needs,
such as medical, educational, supervision and basic
needs of shelter, food, clothing or protection.

Physical IndicatorsPhysical IndicatorsPhysical IndicatorsPhysical IndicatorsPhysical Indicators

• Height and weight significantly below normal
 age levels

• Inappropriate or chronically dirty clothing

• Poor hygiene, body odor, lice, scaly skin

• Lack of medical or dental care

• Untreated illness or injury

• Lack of shelter, heat, water or sanitary
living conditions

• Unsupervised child or abandoned child, (Delaware
policy is that children aged 12 or over can be left
unsupervised if the child is able to care for his/her
own safety needs)

Behavior IndicatorsBehavior IndicatorsBehavior IndicatorsBehavior IndicatorsBehavior Indicators

• Falling asleep in school

• Poor school attendance or chronic tardiness

• Chronic hunger, begging for/stealing  food

• Running away from home
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• Repeated acts of vandalism

• Reports that there is no one to care for them or
reports the lack of heat, water, electricity in
the home

• Assumes adult responsibilities

High Risk ChildrenHigh Risk ChildrenHigh Risk ChildrenHigh Risk ChildrenHigh Risk Children

• Disabled children may be at increased risk for
neglect because of their special needs.  Physically
disabled children may need additional help from a
caregiver and this help may be withheld or the
child may be ignored by a caregiver who is not
able to deal with the child’s additional needs.
Mentally  disabled children or develop-

    mentally delayed children may be at increased
risk for neglect because of their additional needs
for help.

• Children aged 0-6 are at increased risk for neglect
due to their need for additional care.  Children at
this age also are in need of help with many tasks
throughout the day.  This level of supervision and
constant need can stress a parent to the point of
not caring for the child properly or attending to
his/her needs.
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• Parents who are abusing alcohol or other drugs
may not be aware of the needs a child has, there-
fore they neglect to provide for the child.
Caregivers may not be aware of their actions or
inactions and allow things to go undone, such as
paying bills, clothing, bathing or feeding a child.
If a caregiver is unable to identify his/her own
needs, the child’s needs will rarely be met.

• Caregivers who are victims of domestic violence
are often unable to care for their child’s needs.
They may be physically unable to care for a child
due to injuries or they may be emotionally unable
to deal with day-to-day life due to the abuse they
are enduring.  Children living in domestic vio-
lence situations simply may be neglected as a
result of the victim’s abuse or as a part of the
abuser’s violence.

Failure to ThriveFailure to ThriveFailure to ThriveFailure to ThriveFailure to Thrive

Failure to thrive is characterized by the lower-than-
normal physical, emotional or developmental growth
of a child. These children usually fall below the 3rd

percentile on a normal growth chart.  Failure to thrive
may result from a medical condition, environmental
conditions such as neglect or disturbed parenting; or
a combination of medical and environmental factors.
Failure to thrive can be life threatening and the child
needs to be assessed by medical personnel.
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Emotional abuse is characterized by a caregiver
chronically belittling, humiliating and ridiculing the
child.  Emotional neglect is also a form of abuse and
is defined as the consistent failure of the caregiver to
provide support, attention or affection to the child.

Physical IndicatorsPhysical IndicatorsPhysical IndicatorsPhysical IndicatorsPhysical Indicators

• Eating disorders

• Sleep disturbances

• Wetting/soiling by school age

• Speech disorders

• Failure to thrive

• Developmental lags

• Ulcers, severe allergies or asthma

Behavioral IndicatorsBehavioral IndicatorsBehavioral IndicatorsBehavioral IndicatorsBehavioral Indicators

• Poor peer relationships

• Habit disorders, such as biting, rocking, head
banging, thumb sucking (in an older child)

• Behavior extremes, overly compliant/demanding,
withdrawn/aggressive

• Self-destructive behavior, oblivious to hazards
and risks

• Chronic academic underachievement
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High Risk ChildrenHigh Risk ChildrenHigh Risk ChildrenHigh Risk ChildrenHigh Risk Children

• Children who are disabled may be at increased risk
of emotional abuse or neglect due to their own
behavior or physical needs which cause increased
stress in a caregiver.  Children who have any type
of disability may frustrate a parent which could
lead to emotional abuse when that parent is
incapable of addressing a child’s special needs.

• Children aged 0-6 may be at a higher risk for
emotional abuse or neglect due to the increased
need for support during these formative years.
These children are often demanding and in need of
extra attention as they learn to care for some of
their own needs such as feeding themselves and
toileting.  Because of the lack of a support
network, parents may be overwhelmed and the
result could be child emotional abuse or neglect.

• Parents who are currently abusing alcohol or other
drugs may also have difficulty meeting their
child’s emotional needs.  These parents may be
trying to deal with their own problems or simply
be unable, because of their substance abuse, to
cope with any of their child’s needs.

• Caregivers who are experiencing domestic
violence may not be able to tend to a child’s
emotional needs.  Victims of domestic violence
may be wrapped up in their own problems and
unable to give a child the support he/she needs
or may use the same type of emotional abuse
toward the child that they are experiencing from
their abuser.
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Sexual abuse is the exploitation of a child for the
sexual gratification of another person.  Sexual abuse
may include intercourse, sodomy, oral genitalia
stimulation, verbal stimulation, exhibitionism,
voyeurism, fondling, child pornography or prostitu-
tion.  Sexual abuse that occurs within a family is
called incest.   The family member can be a parent,
grandparent, sibling, cousin or any other relative.
The Division of Family Services handles cases of
sexual abuse that occur within the family.  Police are
often involved in these cases and also handle those
in which the sexual abuse occurs outside the family.
It is important to recognize symptoms of sexual
abuse as early as possible so that physical evidence
may be collected.

Physical IndicatorsPhysical IndicatorsPhysical IndicatorsPhysical IndicatorsPhysical Indicators

• Complaints of pain or irritation of the genitals

• Sexually transmitted diseases

• Pregnancy

• Frequent unexplained sore throats, yeast or urinary
tract infections

Behavioral IndicatorsBehavioral IndicatorsBehavioral IndicatorsBehavioral IndicatorsBehavioral Indicators

• Excessive masturbation

• Sexual knowledge beyond a child’s
developmental level

• Depression, suicide attempts

• Chronic runaways

• Avoidance of certain adults or places

• Decline in school performance



Child Abuse Prevention Act of 1997Child Abuse Prevention Act of 1997Child Abuse Prevention Act of 1997Child Abuse Prevention Act of 1997Child Abuse Prevention Act of 1997
(1999 amendments)(1999 amendments)(1999 amendments)(1999 amendments)(1999 amendments)

11 Del.C., § 612.11 Del.C., § 612.11 Del.C., § 612.11 Del.C., § 612.11 Del.C., § 612.  Specific Offenses.Specific Offenses.Specific Offenses.Specific Offenses.Specific Offenses.

A person who is 18 years of age or older is guilty of
assault in the second degree (a class D felony) when
they recklessly or intentionally cause physical injury
to another person who has not yet reached the age of
six years.  Furthermore, it is no defense if the accused
did not know the person’s age or the accused
“reasonably believed the person to be six years of
age or older.”

14 Del.C.,§ 4123.14 Del.C.,§ 4123.14 Del.C.,§ 4123.14 Del.C.,§ 4123.14 Del.C.,§ 4123.      Child Abuse Detection/ Child Abuse Detection/ Child Abuse Detection/ Child Abuse Detection/ Child Abuse Detection/
Reporting TrainingReporting TrainingReporting TrainingReporting TrainingReporting Training

Each public school shall ensure that each full-time
teacher receives one hour of training every year in
the detection and reporting of child abuse.  This
training, and all materials used in such training, shall
be prepared by the Division of Family Services. In
addition, “all public and private providers contract-
ing with the Department of Education...shall ensure
that each and every employee receives a minimum of
one hour of training every year.”

16 Del. C.,§ 906.16 Del. C.,§ 906.16 Del. C.,§ 906.16 Del. C.,§ 906.16 Del. C.,§ 906.      Temporary Emergency Temporary Emergency Temporary Emergency Temporary Emergency Temporary Emergency
Protective CustodyProtective CustodyProtective CustodyProtective CustodyProtective Custody

A Division of Family Services caseworker shall have
the authority to take temporary emergency protective
custody of children they suspect are in imminent
danger of suffering serious physical harm or threat to
life as a result of abuse or neglect providing the child
in question is located at a school, day care facility, or
child care facility at the time the authority is initially
exercised.  This is similar to the temporary emer-
gency protective custody authority granted to a
physician or police officer.



• Drug/alcohol abuse

• Wearing extra layers of clothing or avoidance
of undressing

• Frequent complaints of headaches, stomach aches
or backaches

• Disclosure of sexual abuse

High Risk ChildrenHigh Risk ChildrenHigh Risk ChildrenHigh Risk ChildrenHigh Risk Children

• Disabled children are at increased risk for sexual
abuse.  Because disabled children may be acces-
sible to an abuser, they may not be able to get
away or to tell about the abuse; or they may be
easily persuaded into situations leading to abuse.

• Children aged 0-6 are also at risk as they too may
be easily persuaded into situations where abuse
can occur.  They may not be able to tell about or
get away from an abuser.  They may be more
accessible to an abuser.

• Children who live in homes where alcohol or other
drugs are abused are at an increased risk for sexual
abuse for many reasons.  Adults who may not
normally abuse children may be uninhibited and
approach/attack a child while under the influence
of a substance.  Caregivers may be under increased
pressure to allow their children to be sexually
abused in exchange for money or substances.
Children may be exposed to substances themselves
and to situations where sexual abuse occurs.

• Children who live in domestic violence situations
may also be at increased risk for sexual abuse.
Perpetrators of domestic violence often use sexual
violence to exert their control.  Children may
either experience or be forced to watch this type
of violence.
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Child DeathChild DeathChild DeathChild DeathChild Death

A child’s death is an extremely difficult experience
for everyone involved. When a child dies, an
investigation takes place on many different levels.
Law enforcement, the medical examiner’s office and
sometimes the Division of Family Services are
involved in investigating a child’s death. Delaware
also has statewide multidisciplinary Child Death
Review Panels that conduct reviews to determine if
there are system, policy or legislative changes which
could be made to prevent future deaths.

Child deaths may be investigated by members of the
professional team. Police are searching for any
criminal violations. The medical examiner assists in
the criminal investigation as well as determining the
cause of death. If child abuse or neglect is suspected,
the Division of Family Services becomes involved to
ensure the safety of other children in the home and to
provide services as needed.

In Delaware most child deaths occurIn Delaware most child deaths occurIn Delaware most child deaths occurIn Delaware most child deaths occurIn Delaware most child deaths occur
during the first year of life.during the first year of life.during the first year of life.during the first year of life.during the first year of life.

Funding for this publication was provided in part by
the Child Abuse and Neglect Basic State Grant
authorized under CAPTA as disbursed by the

Children’s Bureau, Administration for Children,
Youth and Families, U.S. Department of Health and

Human Services.

To report child abuse and neglect, callTo report child abuse and neglect, callTo report child abuse and neglect, callTo report child abuse and neglect, callTo report child abuse and neglect, call

1-800-292-95821-800-292-95821-800-292-95821-800-292-95821-800-292-9582       24 hours a day  24 hours a day  24 hours a day  24 hours a day  24 hours a day

Division of Family Services Offices:Division of Family Services Offices:Division of Family Services Offices:Division of Family Services Offices:Division of Family Services Offices:
Elwyn- (302) 577-3824

University Plaza- (302) 451-2800
Kent County- (302) 739-4800
Sussex County- (302) 856-5460
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